Skip to content

3. enter the worm

November 21, 2010

I struggled like this for a while, until I heard a podcast that changed my life. I was listening to an episode of NPR’s “This American Life” where they talked with a guy who had such bad allergies he had become non-functional. He was visiting relatives in England when he heard a BBC report about some experiments with hookworms. He asked the doctors to try it out on him, but they refused. So he went to Africa and walked around in the latrine grounds until he was infected. A few months after his infection, “poof!” all his allergies disappeared. So he started making hookworms available to others as well.

As soon as I heard it I knew. I had to get hookworms, too.

To hear the NPR show, click here:

This American Life: Enemy Camp

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

