Skip to content

6. the first dose

January 22, 2011

I wanted to get started sooner rather than later. Lisa and I were getting married, and we would soon be in Italy. Would X have the worm FedX’d to our hotel room in Rome? He would.

Unfortunately, things did not go so well. I worried the whole time we were traveling about whether it would be there when we arrived, and started a course of prednisone about five days before we were due to arrive in the Imperial City. Finally, we got there and…no FedX package. I panicked, called X and had a bit of a hysterical fit.

He called back, apologized profusely, and promised to send another dose. Only, if we were lucky, it would arrive the night before our flight. I had hoped to have it while we had several days ahead of us in one place, so that I could adjust if I reacted badly to it. Oh, well, I was going to travel whether I was sick or not with it, now.

The package did indeed arrive on our last night there. Inside, I found a 2×2 band-aid, a dropper, and two tiny vials of what looked like water, about the size of my thumbnail. One of the vials had “C” marked on the lid.

There were no instructions in the package. Arrrghghgh!!!

I hastily called X, who apologized for there not being any instructions. “I emailed them to you,” he said. But no email had arrived. Sigh… So X gave me verbal instructions, which I followed to the letter.

I opened the “C” vial, and pulled water out of it with the dropper. I squeezed out the liquid onto the pad of the band-aid. When it was empty, I did the same with the unmarked vial. Then I put the band-aid on my forearm. Then I went to bed.

I thought about the little wormy fellows now burrowing their way into my bloodstream, and felt so excited I could barely sleep. I felt so warm towards them, so hopeful.

Too bad they were dead.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott permalink
    January 23, 2011 2:18 am

    Hi John, thanks for blogging about this, I’m considering HT for my Crohn’s Disease and I appreciate your effort in letting us all see how the process goes for you so that I can make the most informed choice for myself.

    Can you explain about the worms being dead?

    ~Scott

    • January 23, 2011 4:00 pm

      Hi, Scott. Yeah, see my next post in a day or so. I’m rolling the story out as I have time to write it up. Thanks for reading!

  2. Romany Norris permalink
    January 23, 2011 5:02 am

    Holy cow! I’m so sorry. So now what? I’m very interested in hearing how they intend to resolve this. I’m scheduled to go to Canada for a “booster” next week (have already had one dose) and am concerned the shipment may freeze before it’s delivered.

    • January 23, 2011 4:02 pm

      Romany, don’t worry. As you’ll discover in later installments, Canada is fine, and my dose from there was healthy.

  3. Torie walsh permalink
    January 23, 2011 11:52 am

    What is happening so far… Let me know… I need a cure… I will sell my car and walk for a year if I can get a cure…. But then if I get a cure I can work and buy a new car…

    • January 23, 2011 4:01 pm

      Torie, I totally understand how desperate you are. I was the same. I’ll keep writing the story as I have time. Expect another installment today or tomorrow. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

