Skip to content

8. the second dose

January 27, 2011

It was a lovely little getaway. Lisa and I settled into our hotel, and to my great relief, the FedEx package was waiting for me when we got there. I went immediately up to my room and got to work. I read the directions (real directions this time!) which said very clearly to carefully hold on to the lid of the vial so that none of the liquid would splash out. Of course, I did exactly what the instructions said NOT to do, and a couple of drops from the vial went straight into my eye!

I put it out of my mind and completed the task, emptying the vial onto the band aid and then firmly fixing the band aid to my fore arm.

Almost immediately, my fore arm started itching like mad. A good sign! I emailed X and told him what I was experiencing. He emailed back quickly and told me that was a very good thing–it means the worms are alive and that they were even at that moment burrowing into my skin. Soon they would be catching a free ride in my bloodstream. First stop, the lungs! Next stop, the small intestines!

Task completed, Lisa and I went out site-seeing. But of course, I obsessed about the drops that splashed in my eye. I had nightmarish visions of hookworms setting up camp in my eye, destroying it, eating it up from the outside in. I decided that, since my eye did not ITCH, I was being ridiculous. Eventually, I forgot about it and actually did enjoy myself. Nice.

Now, the waiting again.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    January 27, 2011 11:24 pm

    How can you not mention the famous Steam Clock!! I mean, really… 🙂

  2. Carole Parmeter Dyer permalink
    January 28, 2011 5:08 am

    I am on the edge of my seat! I hope it works marvelously John!

  3. January 28, 2011 3:27 pm

    wow, scary! Worms in the eyes – I wonder what would’ve happened.

  4. February 1, 2011 7:09 am

    By the way, have you ever checked your vitamin D levels? They should be at least at 50ng/ml.

    • February 3, 2011 2:08 pm

      Herbert, I have no idea how I would even go about checking my vitamin D levels. Is there one supplement I can take that will do most of it?

  5. michael permalink
    February 3, 2011 5:12 am

    Waiting for an update, what’s going on? how are you doing?

  6. February 4, 2011 11:45 am

    http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/01/100127104904.htm
    read the above article
    To check your vitamin D blood levels – either go to a doctor and ask for a 25-hydroxy-vitamin D blood test or order it from here and do it yourself and mail it in:
    http://www.grassrootshealth.net/d-action
    It’s $60 for the self-test. If you have insurance, the doctor’s blood test will be free. You want to be above 50ng/ml.

    Here’s a good and cheap supplement: http://www.iherb.com/Healthy-Origins-Vitamin-D3-10-000-IU-360-Softgels/21298?at=0

    I highly suggest to increase magnesium and vitamin K2 intake when increasing vitamin D as those are the co-factors. Make sure magnesium is chelated type only, such as this:
    http://www.jigsawhealth.com/supplements/magnesium

  7. Lorelei permalink
    March 2, 2011 9:34 pm

    Okay, I’m stopping at this “episode” in the drama to say that John R. Mabry, you are making me late to pick up my kids!!! I read the first couple of entries a month or so ago, forgot to check back, and now am…ahem…

    HOOKED

    on your story, that is. Totally fascinating. I’m also quite sure I may have told you this before, but I love your writing style. You’re setting up the cliffhangers just like ol’ Ira Glass does in This American Life. You’re killin’ me, kid.

    Okay, now back to your story.

    Thanks for the entertainment.

Leave a Reply

