Skip to content

10. My Letter to X

March 7, 2011

Hi, X. I just thought I’d check in. It’s been exactly four months since I got my successful dose. I have noticed that my ambient symptoms have diminished in severity. They are not gone, but the time between episodes is much greater and the severity of episodes when they do happen are greatly diminished.

I have not tried to eat anything to which I know I am reactive yet. It makes sense to wait until all the ambient symptoms have disappeared to try that. Still, I’m wondering if that’s going to happen. Better is certainly good. I’d be happier with complete remission, of course, but perhaps I need to be realistic and grateful for what I’ve gotten.
So I have some questions:
a. Will waiting another month be likely to show further improvement? Or is this as good as it’s going to get?
b. Do I need a higher dosage of worms? I believe I only received 25, and I have tolerated them VERY well. I haven’t felt any negative reactions at all. If 25 diminished my ambient symptoms by half, will another 25 take them away completely? How do you compute these things?
c. At what point do you recommend combination therapy (hookworms PLUS porcine whipworms), or are we way too early for that?
Thanks for your attention and care…
John
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    March 7, 2011 7:02 pm

    I think the initial vial said 35 worms. Of course, as far as I know there’s no way to determine how many worms are actually residing in your gut. They had to survive the trip, first across the Atlantic and North America, then across you, from arm to gut, before they could set up shop. There must be at least two, since it takes to to tango, i.e., to make baby hookworm eggs. Considering the rigors of travel they’ve survived, however many made it, doubtless your worms are hearty, strong pioneer worms-of-the-world!

    • March 7, 2011 7:22 pm

      You could be right about the 35. I don’t think they reproduce in the gut, though. I think that requires coming out, gestating in the mud, and coming in through the soles of the feet in its normal life-cycle. I think 35 is all I’ll have until the booster. I’m just wondering if that’s enough.

      • Lisa permalink
        March 7, 2011 8:59 pm

        No, I’m with you–it’s just that you may have as many as 35, or fewer, depending on how well they managed all their travel. You’re right, they don’t reproduce without time in the mud (phew!)

Leave a Reply

