Skip to content

11. going it alone

May 3, 2011

There’s lots happening in worm-land. My hookworms appear to be fat and happy (I still refuse to name them, although I do often refer to them collectively as my “gut-buddies” as other helminthic enthusiasts do), as I am continuing to improve, health-wise. My mystery-illness symptoms occur less frequently than ever–maybe once every three weeks, and they are brief and mild when they do. Thanks be to God (that’s TBTG in internet liturgical use).

I received word back from X saying, yes, it’s time for a booster of another 40 worms. So I started packing my bags for the neighboring-country-which-cannot-legally-be-named. Now the bad news: I just heard from X that he can no longer ship to hotels in said neighboring country. And I don’t know anyone who can receive them at a private residence. My only other choice? Fly to Europe. For a day. Crazy.

I was pondering this and cursing liberally when my wife, bless her, said, “I’m a scientist. How hard can it be? Let’s grow our own.”

I am NOT a scientist. I am a theologian. Since I am an expert only in things that don’t actually exist, I was hesitant and skeptical. Still, I did some internet searches and came up with a “how-to” article that seemed…well, not simple, but not too hard. I showed it to Lisa.

“Oh. Easy,” she said.

“Really?” I asked.

“Poop in a bucket. Buy a microscope. No sweat.”

“Huh…” I said, as my reading of it seemed a bit more complicated. “Okay,” I said, finally. “Let’s go it alone.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 4:42 am

    sounds like a good idea for a startup

  2. May 4, 2011 4:42 am

    sounds like a good idea for a startup!

  3. Christine B permalink
    May 7, 2011 2:23 am

    If only all of life’s instructions started that simply…”poop in a bucket….”

Leave a Reply

